Chakra means “wheel”. Each energy center, or chakra, not only corresponds to one of the glands of the endocrine system, but is also associated with a certain color, smell, sound, taste, emotion, astrological symbol, organ, and stages of human development.

Crown chakra: the right to know and learn

Color: Violet (gold and white also)

Sanskrit name: Sahasrara, or “Thousandfold”


The crown chakra relates to consciousness as pure awareness. It is our connection to the divine, the greater world beyond, to a timeless place of knowing. There are many forms of knowledge – cognitive, emotional, intuitive, learned etc But ‘wisdom’ is a whole new level of understanding that transcends the physical plane. An open crown chakra is also associated with the ability to consciously travel on non-physical planes such as astral travel. When awakened, this chakra brings us knowledge, wisdom, understanding, spiritual connection, and bliss.

Third eye chakra: the basic right to see

Color: Indigo

Sanskrit name: Ajna or to perceive, to know


This chakra is related to the act of seeing, both physically and intuitively. The awakening of the third-eye chakra leads to clairvoyance or the ability to see on the non-physical planes. It also assists in studies, negotiations and communication of truth. When vibrant, it allows us to see the big picture and understand our place in the world – experiencing clarity.

Above all, accept that your own intuition and inner wisdom leads you to the right decisions, rather than self-doubt as this is what blocks this chakra. By going against your instincts, you effectively shut down your third eye chakra.


Throat chakra: the right to speak and hear the truth

Color: light blue

Sanskrit name: Vishudha or “purification”


The throat chakra promotes communication, courage and creative connection. A healthy throat chakra facilitates expression and diplomacy. It gives you the courage to say what needs to be said without the fear of consequence – to speak your truth.

Trust and honor higher forces at work within you to keep your throat chakra open and vibrant. This chakra also leads to clairaudience, which is the ability to hear on the nonphysical planes. Ignoring the ‘voices’ of Angels and other spiritual beings will also serve to block your throat chakra.

Heart chakra: the basic right to love and be loved

Color: Green (I also include pink)

Sanskrit name: Anahata or “unstruck”


This chakra is related to love and relationships. It is the center of the chakra’s – with 3 below and 3 above. A healthy heart chakra allows us to love deeply, feel compassion and enjoy a sense of peace and harmony. Trust issues betrayals, rejections, self-criticism or perceived wrongs will put your heart chakra out of balance.

Think about ways to energize your heart if you find it difficult to connect with others in a meaningful way, this will help you promote more honest connections. Above everything else, learn to accept and love yourself unconditionally in order to attract the deep love you deserve from others.

Solar plexus chakra: the basic right to act

Color: Yellow

Sanskrit name: Manipura or lustrous gem


This chakra is known as the power chakra. It rules our personal power, will, fear, autonomy and metabolism. When spinning or vibrating at its best level, this chakra energizes bringing effectiveness, spontaneity, non-dominating power.

This chakra is where anxiety manifests as a nervous energy also known as butterflies. If you’re feeling manipulated or ignored, this in turn results in anxiety and lack of vitality. When the solar plexus chakra is charged, you can feel invincible.

Sacral chakra: the basic right to feel

Color: Orange

Sanskrit name: Svadhisthana, or “sweetness”


The second chakra, located in the abdomen, lower back, and sexual organs, is related to creativity, emotions, abundance and sexuality. This chakra brings us fluidity and grace, depth of feeling, sexual fulfillment, and the ability to accept change. It connects us to others through feeling, desire, sensation, and movement. Linked to the reproductive area of the female body, creativity is heightened when this chakra is awakened. It can go out of balance if you are the type to look in the mirror and only see ‘imperfections’, or if you believe yourself to be less of a person and not enough.

Base chakra: the basic right to have

Color: Red

Sanskrit name: Muladhara, meaning root or support


Located at the base of the spine, this chakra forms our foundation. It is related to our “fight or flight” survival instincts, representing our sense of grounding and connection to our bodies and the physical plane. Ideally this chakra brings us health, prosperity, security, and a sense of belonging – to family, to the community, to humanity, and to Gaia (mother earth) and her living creatures. Typically this chakra can go out of balance when you are in situations that threaten your security – for example, moving home, changing jobs or losing a loved one who you depended on. If you ever feel unsettled, or at these kinds of crossroads in your life, raise your conscious focus on your base chakra and the energy of red.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This